APA and MLA are the two citation styles most commonly used at VCCS community colleges.
Always check with your instructor first on which citation style to use for a particular assignment. Also, always check with your instructor on any specific formatting guidelines to use for a particular assignment that may differ from standard APA and MLA guidelines.
Check out the following for assistance in citing your sources:
Most recent copies of Publication Manual of the APA and the MLA Handbook are usually kept at your VCCS Library Reference Desk.
Check out free citation generators on the open Web such as EasyBib, Son of Citation Machine, or BibMe.
Automatic citation generators are also available via the library databases.
Ask your VCCS Librarian or your instructor for assistance in citing your sources.
Created by George Wallace Library, Champlain College Saint-Lambert, Montreal, CA - Standard YouTube License
WORKS CITED LIST:
BOOK:
Format:
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City, State: Publisher, Year. Print.
Example:
Valenti, Francine. More Than a Movie. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2000. Print.
JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE:
Format:
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol.Issue (Year): Page(s).
Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).
Example:
Bartra, Valentin. "An Institutional Framework for a More Efficient Use of Natural Resources."
Minerals & Energy 22.1-2 (2007): 48-61. Academic Search Complete. Web. 25 Jun. 2009.
MAGAZINE ARTICLE FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE:
Format:
Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Title of Magazine Day Month Year: Page(s).
Name of Database. Web.Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).
Example:
Winegart, Peter. "Education: Legislating Legacies." Newsweek 14 Oct. 2005: 10.
Academic OneFile. Web. 23 June 2009.
PARENTHETICAL CITATIONS:
AUTHOR NAMED IN TEXT:
Format:
Signal phrase with author's name, "quote" (page).
Example:
One researcher, Carol Gilligan, concludes that "women impose a distinctive construction on moral problems" (105).
AUTHOR NOT NAMED IN TEXT:
Format:
Signal phrase, "quote" (Author page).
Example:
According to a study, "the poor and minorities were victims" (Frieden and Sagalyn 29).
NO AUTHOR:
Format:
Signal phrase, "quote" (Shortened Title page).
Signal phrase with title, "quote" (page).
Examples:
Full Title: The Right to Die
One article states that, "A death row inmate may demand his execution for notoriety" (Right 135).
The Right to Die states that, "A death row inmate may demand his execution for notoriety" (135).
Created by Dalhousie University Libraries, Halifax, Nova Scotia, CA - Standard YouTube License
REFERENCES LIST:
BOOK:
Format:
Last Name, First & Middle Initials. (Year). Title of book. City, State: Publisher.
Example:
Valenti, F. M. (2000). More than a movie. Boulder, CO: Westview Press.
JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE - INCLUDES DOI #:
Format:
Last Name, First & Middle Initials., Last Name, First & Middle Initials., &
Last Name, First & Middle Initials. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal,
Vol.(Issue), Page(s). doi: number
Example:
Hoar, W. P., Johnson, R. P., & Chiari, D. M. (2004). Benign discrimination?
New American, 19(2), 2-24. doi:10.1080/1462220041000
MAGAZINE ARTICLE FROM A LIBRARY DATABASSE - NO DOI #:
Format:
Last Name, First & Middle Initials. (Year, Month Day). Title of article.
Title of Magazine, Vol.(Issue), pages. Retrieved from URL of magazine home page
Example:
Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies.
Newsweek, 142(17), 10-12. Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com
PARENTHETICAL CITATIONS:
AUTHOR NAMED IN TEXT:
Format:
Signal phrase, Last name (Year), "quote" (p. #)
Example:
One researcher, Carol Gilligan (2005), concludes that "women impose a distinctive construction on moral problems" (p. 105)
AUTHOR NOT NAMED IN TEXT:
Format:
Signal phrase or quote (Last name & Last name, Year, p. #)
Example:
According to this study (Brown & Smith, 2007, p. 26)
NO AUTHOR:
Full Title: The Right to Die
Format:
Signal phrase, "quote" (Shortened title, year, p. #).
Examples:
One article states that, "A death row inmate may demand his execution for notoriety" (Right, 2005, p. 135).
The Right to Die states that, "A death row inmate may demand his execution for notoriety" (p. 135).